Wednesday, March 7, 2012

[ZESTCaste] Mayawati, first UP chief minister to complete five-year stint

Mayawati, first UP chief minister to complete five-year stint

Press Trust of India, Updated: March 07, 2012 09:10 IST

Lucknow: Bahujan Samaj Party supremo Mayawati may be on her way out
of 'pancham tal' -- Chief Minister's Office in the Secretariat
building -- but she has the distinction of being the first Chief
Minister of Uttar Pradesh to have completed a full five-year term in
the post.

The Dalit leader, whose social engineering catapulted her to simple
majority of 206 in the 403-member state assembly in the 2007
elections, became the first Chief Minister of the state to do so since

The leader, who her rivals accuse of having megalomaniac tendencies,
became the Chief Minister for fourth time in 2007 achieving the feat
of former Chief Ministers Chandrabhanu
Gupta and N D Tiwari of Congress who had graced the post four times each.

The history of the state shows that none of the 31 Chief Ministers
were able to complete a five year term, not even stalwarts like Gobind
Ballabh Pant, Sucheta Kriplani, V P
Singh, Kamlapati Tripathi, Kalyan Singh and Mulayam Singh Yadav among others.

Pant took oath as first Chief Minister of the state on May 20, 1952
but two years later he was succeeded by Sampurnand. In the next
assembly elections in 1957, it was Sampurnanda who led Congress to
victory but after his demise in 1960 Chandra Bhanu Gupta became the
Chief Minister.

After electoral victory in 1962, Gupta became Chief Minister for the
second time but had to resign within a year paving way for Sucheta
Kriplani to become the first woman
Chief Minister in independent India in 1963.

Kriplani was elected to Lok Sabha in 1967 and Gupta again became Chief
Minister for a brief period of one month after which Choudhary Charan
Singh, with the help and support of Raj Narain and Ram Manohar Lohia,
became Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh in 1967, and later in 1970.

But the Jat leader's tenure on both occasions was less than a year
before being dismissed by a Congress Government at the Centre and
imposition of President's rule in the state.
From the first time it was imposed during the tenure of Charan Singh
in 1968, till 2007, President's rule was imposed in the state nine

Post 1970, Congress leaders like Chandra Bhanu Gupta, TN Singh,
Kamlapati Tripathi, Hemwati Nandan Bahuguna, ND Tiwari, VP Singh,
Sripati Mishra and Vir Bahadur Singh also
graced the post but none of them could complete the tenure of five
years. Brief tenures of non-Congress CMs like Ram Naresh Yadav and
Banarasi Das were also witnessed.

Mulayam Singh Yadav took oath of Chief Minister in 1989 for the first
time but remained in the post only two years. While the Mandal-Mandir
protests were at peak in the country, Kalyan Singh rode on the saffron
wave to be elected as the Chief Minister of the state on June 24,
1991. His term ended as he tendered resignation and President's rule
was imposed on December 6, 1992 after Babri Masjid demolition.

Mulayam Singh again came to power with support from Bahujan Samaj
Party in 1993 but lasted for nearly one-and a half year as Mayawati
pulled out her party's support. Mayawati
became the chief minister for the first time in 1995 with the BJP
support but could not complete her term.

After a brief President's rule, Mayawati again became Chief Minister
in 1997 as part of a six-month-each-agreement between BJP and BSP.

As per the agreement, Kalyan Singh succeeded her after six months. He
could not complete his term and Ramprakash Gupta took his place in
1999 and later Rajnath Singh became
Chief Minister in 2000.

Mayawati became Chief Minister for third time after 2002 election with
support from BJP. Within a year the government fell and Mulayam Singh
Yadav became the CM for the third time in 2003 and continued till

In the 2007 assembly elections, Mayawati's BSP won 206 seats giving
her clear majority and five years term to rule.

Read more at:

Recent Activity:
Get all ZESTCaste mails sent out in a span of 24 hours in a single mail. Subscribe to the daily digest version by sending a blank mail to, OR, if you have a Yahoo! Id, change your settings at

On this list you can share caste news, discuss caste issues and network with like-minded anti-caste people from across India and the world. Just write to

If you got this mail as a forward, subscribe to ZESTCaste by sending a blank mail to OR, if you have a Yahoo! ID, by visiting

Also have a look at our sister list, ZESTMedia:


No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive