Thursday, January 26, 2012

[ZESTCaste] UP assembly election: Opposition parties grab tainted BSP leaders

25 Jan, 2012, 04.12PM IST, Ashish Tripathi,TNN
UP assembly election: Opposition parties grab tainted BSP leaders

LUCKNOW: UP chief minister and BSP supremo Mayawati's `waste' is
turning out be `asset' for the Opposition parties. The ministers and
MLAs sacked by her on charges of corruption and involvement in
criminal activities are getting tickets from other parties for the
upcoming Uttar Pradesh assembly elections. Latest in the series is
Rajpal Tygai who has been fielded by Samajwadi Party from Muradnagar
assembly seat in Ghaziabad.

Rajpal Tyagi was dropped by Mayawati from her cabinet last month after
high court ordered a CBI probe into a fake encounter case. Rajpal
Tyagi has been accused of influencing police to kill his rival
Ravindra Tyagi in a fake encounter last year. However, SP on Wednesday
replaced Dikshant Tyagi, who was earlier given ticket from Muradnagar,
with Rajpal Tygai. The SP leaders said that the high court has only
ordered an inquiry against Rajpal Tyagi. He has not been found guilty
as yet, they said. Significantly, earlier, two MLAs -- Guddu Pandit
and Sher Bahadur Singh -- expelled by Mayawati on charges of
involvement in criminal activities were also given tickets by the SP.

SP is not the only party to grab expelled BSP MLAs and ministers. BJP
has given tickets to two former ministers in Mayawati government --
Daddan Mishra and Awdhesh Kumar Verma -- for the elections. The two
were sacked by Mayawati on charges of corruption and neglecting their
constituencies. BJP had also inducted former family welfare minister
in Mayawati cabinet, Babu Singh Kushwaha, who is the prime suspect in
the National Rural Health Mission (NRHM) scam.

Mayawati had removed and later expelled Kushwaha after allegations of
his involvement in the NRHM scam surfaced. The BJP was forced to
suspend the membership of Kushwaha after some senior leaders opposed
his induction. However, Kushwaha is campaigning for BJP for the
elections to be held in February.

RLD has also given tickets for elections to three tainted BSP MLAs --
Thakur Yashpal Singh, Haji Yakub Quereshi and Shanawaz Rana. While
Yashpal Singh was expelled by Mayawati on corruption charges, Quereshi
was axed for his alleged derogatory remarks of the Sikh community, and
Rana for trying to protect his nephew accused of kidnapping and raping
two Delhi-based girls.

Recent Activity:
Get all ZESTCaste mails sent out in a span of 24 hours in a single mail. Subscribe to the daily digest version by sending a blank mail to, OR, if you have a Yahoo! Id, change your settings at

On this list you can share caste news, discuss caste issues and network with like-minded anti-caste people from across India and the world. Just write to

If you got this mail as a forward, subscribe to ZESTCaste by sending a blank mail to OR, if you have a Yahoo! ID, by visiting

Also have a look at our sister list, ZESTMedia:


No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive