Monday, August 8, 2011

[ZESTCaste] Reserved wards jolt civic body stalwarts

Reserved wards jolt civic body stalwarts
Bhavika Jain, Hindustan Times
Mumbai, August 06, 2011

The announcement of the 13 reserved wards for the scheduled caste (SC)
and scheduled tribes (ST) candidates for the Brihanmumbai Municipal
Corporation (BMC) elections - scheduled in February 2012 - sprung up
quite a few surprises on Friday. Casualties were big names such as the
standing committee chairman Rahul Shewale, leader of the house Sunil
Prabhu, and BEST committee chairman Sunil Shinde. The seats belonging
to both Shewale (ward no 136) and Prabhu (ward no 47) have been
reserved for ST candidates. So, in order to retain their corporator's
post, they will now have to contest from other wards.

Of the 11 wards reserved for the SC category candidates, six have been
reserved for women. In the two reserved seats for ST category, one
each will be for men and women.

While the formal lottery for the remaining 216 seats will be held on
August 10, the SC and ST wards were announced as the reservation is
carried out on the basis of the SC and ST population of the ward as
per the census and not according to the lottery system.

Apart from the two stalwarts of Shiv Sena, the party will also have to
look for other options for Manmohan Chonkar and Kashinath Tharli, as
their wards have been reserved for the SC category candidates.

About the division affecting their prospects of winning, the Sena men
said that they will toe the party line and act as per the orders of
Sena executive president Uddhav Thackeray.

Maharashtra Navnirman Sena (MNS) group leader and MLA Mangesh Sangle,
BJP corporators Rukmini Kharatmol and Vishwanath Maske, Congress
corporators Devidas Borse, Prescilla Kadam, Mangala Gaikwad and Rabia
Iqbal Shaikh will also have to surrender their wards that have now
been reserved for the SC category.

Of the 227 seats, 77 are for the open category candidates. The 50%
reservation mandate has reserved 114 seats for women, in which 31
seats are reserved for OBC candidates, 6 for SC, 76 for open category
and one for ST candidate. "There will be at least 114 women
corporators. Also, depending on the lottery results for the 77
open-for-all seats the number could increase," said Aseem Gupta,
additional municipal commissioner.

Recent Activity:
Get all ZESTCaste mails sent out in a span of 24 hours in a single mail. Subscribe to the daily digest version by sending a blank mail to, OR, if you have a Yahoo! Id, change your settings at

On this list you can share caste news, discuss caste issues and network with like-minded anti-caste people from across India and the world. Just write to

If you got this mail as a forward, subscribe to ZESTCaste by sending a blank mail to OR, if you have a Yahoo! ID, by visiting

Also have a look at our sister list, ZESTMedia:


No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive