Friday, July 2, 2010

[ZESTCaste] Amethi now a district, named after Dalit leader

Amethi now a district, named after Dalit leader
Express News Service Posted: Jul 02, 2010 at 0156 hrs

Lucknow Opening a new front of friction with the Congress, the
Mayawati government in Uttar Pradesh converted Rahul Gandhi's Lok
Sabha constituency Amethi into a district on Thursday and named it
Chhatrapati Sahuji Maharaj Nagar. The new district is almost
coterminus with Amethi constituency and includes parts of Sultanpur
and Rae Bareli districts.
The decision was taken at a meeting of the state Cabinet, chaired by
the chief minister herself in which the Kanpur Dehat district was also
renamed Ramabai Nagar.

It is clear the Mayawati government has revived a seven-year-old issue
to create problems for Congress general secretary Rahul Gandhi and to
send out a clear message to the people of Amethi that the present
regime cares about them.

On May 21, 2003, the then Mayawati government had first issued the
notification converting Amethi into a district. The subsequent
government of Mulayam Singh had overturned that decision on November
13, 2003.

Later, one Umashankar Pandey challenged Singh's move in the Allahabad
High Court. On March 6, 2010, the court asked the government to
consider his request within three months.

Pandey then presented his case before a high-level committee headed by
the Chairman of the Revenue Board.

According to an official statement, this committee recommended that
the district status be restored because it fulfilled the parameters
for the creation of a district.

In view of the ongoing census, however, the state government had
issued a notification stating no changes would be made in the
administrative boundaries of any district, tehsil, block and village
panchayat until the the census is completed.

But the government said it created the new district to comply with the
court order. It will convey this to the Registrar General of Census.

It also claimed the decision would not affect census work.

The headquarters of the new district will be Gauriganj. It will have
an area of around 3,070 square kilometres and will consist five
tehsils, 16 blocks and 17 police stations. Within hours of its
decision, the government posted Jagdish Prasad as district magistrate
and Sugreev Giri as the new superintendent of police.

The government renamed Kanpur Dehat as Ramabai Nagar, because of the
frequent confusion that arises from two districts with nearly similar
names — Kanpur Dehat and Kanpur Nagar. It named Kanpur Dehat Ramabai
Nagar to honour the memory of Dr Bhim Rao Ambedkar's wife.


Get all ZESTCaste mails sent out in a span of 24 hours in a single mail. Subscribe to the daily digest version by sending a blank mail to, OR, if you have a Yahoo! Id, change your settings at

On this list you can share caste news, discuss caste issues and network with like-minded anti-caste people from across India and the world. Just write to

If you got this mail as a forward, subscribe to ZESTCaste by sending a blank mail to OR, if you have a Yahoo! ID, by visiting

Also have a look at our sister list, ZESTMedia:! Groups Links

<*> To visit your group on the web, go to:

<*> Your email settings:
Individual Email | Traditional

<*> To change settings online go to:
(Yahoo! ID required)

<*> To change settings via email:

<*> To unsubscribe from this group, send an email to:

<*> Your use of Yahoo! Groups is subject to:

No comments:

Post a Comment

Blog Archive